Ok…I don’t want to stir up anything. It was a nice poem. http://www.upworthy.com/watch-this-guy-misspell-father-at-a-spelling-bee-for-a-beautiful-reason-5 However, a mother is not and cannot ever be a father. She may be a super woman/mother by choice or by circumstance, but I believe that this trend to call mothers fathers, wishing single mothers a “happy father’s day”, etc. does everyone a disservice. Fathers need to be held accountable, those who are present and those who aren’t. Many women give men a “pass” because they don’t want to be bothered with the man anymore or because he isn’t partner/father material. But let’s call a spade a spade. Sometimes sh*t just doesn’t work out. We aren’t all living the fairy tale. There are some good, even great fathers out there. Their role shouldn’t be diminished by telling them that there are lots of women doing their job! My mother did a fantastic job being my mother despite the absence of my father, and I salute her for that. But I was aware always that my father was/is absent. Presently, I am fortunate to have married a man who values the importance of being a F-A-T-H-E-R. I am proud to call him my husband. I wish that every woman and child who wanted a father in their lives had one. And I salute all the mothers who are doing the best that they can with the resources they have.

And how come very little is mentioned about the many father’s who are left to parent alone? Do we not want to recognize that MANY mothers are not up to the task of being a parent? Obviously, these numbers are not as high, but absent mothers are a fact. We don’t give nearly as much “dap” to those fathers who are pulling the weight of two parents.

Lastly, this is not a gender debate. So I purposely haven’t touched on the same-sex parents (two moms or two dads), as that is a whole ‘nother topic altogether. After all good parenting is NOT gender specific.

