Tags

I love FGT, but generally only had them at restaurants. On a recent visit to a farm market, I purchased a few green tomatoes and figured I’d try my hand at making ones I’ve had and loved. There was a box of FGT mix on the shelf next to the tomatoes…meh…I knew I didn’t want that. Most especially, I am not a fan of the traditional corn meal coating. I prefer breadcrumbs.

The recipe that follows it what I’ve come up with, and I am darned happy with the results. I was especially pleased to discover that they can be frozen and fried later when I want them and when green tomatoes are hard to find.

If you’re not a fan of goat cheese, I am sure these would work with cream cheese or even a small, thin piece of cheddar…or fried singularly with no cheese between slices for my vegan friends.

Enjoy! (And relax…it seems like a lot of work, but it really isn’t. Goes very quickly…especially if you’re making to freeze and enjoy later.)

Oh…I use a generic pesto recipe that I will post separately.

INGREDIENTS:

Three medium green tomatoes
two eggs
1/4 C milk
2 T malt vinegar
3/4 C flour
1 t garlic powder
1T seasoned salt (Lawry’s)
1 t fresh ground black pepper (or white pepper)
2 C Panko bread crumbs
Veg oil for frying (about 1 C divided use)
5 oz goat cheese, softened
3 + 2 T dried Italian herb seasoning
1T kosher salt, plus more for finishing

PREPARATION:

Slice tomatoes VERY thinly (discard the ends)
mix the goat cheese and 2T of the Italian herb seasoning and set aside
mix the eggs, vinegar and milk, set aside
mix the flour, garlic powder, seasoned salt, pepper, set aside
miix the bread crumbs and 3T dried Italian seasoning and 1T salt, set aside

DIRECTIONS:

1. place a small amount (a smear) of the cheese mixture on one tomato slice. Top with another slice of tomato. Repeat until all of the tomato slices are used.
2. put all of the tomato sandwiches on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and place in the freezer for about 10 mins
3. remove tomatoes from the freezer
4. one at a time, coat tomatoes in the following order (use tongs or forks to keep hands clean, if that matters to you)

* dip into seasoned flour

* dip into egg mixture

* dip into breadcrumb mixture

* place coated tomatoes back on the lined cookie sheet

*5. If you’re going to freeze them, put the cookie sheet back into the freezer for about an hour; then place the frozen tomatoes flat in a zippered bag or container (if you put them in a container, place parchment between to prevent sticking)
5. Heat about 1/2 inch oil in a heavy skillet on med-low, fry tomatoes until golden, about 2 mins each side
6. place the tomatoes on a paper towel lined platter and keep warm in the oven until all tomatoes are finished
7. Sprinkle with additional salt, if desired (now is a good time to taste one!)
*8 I serve these with a basil dipping sauce (recipe below)

NOTE: If you are going to freeze them to cook later, heat the oil and fry directly from the freezer (DO NOT THAW OR THEY WILL BE SOGGY!) You will need to increase the cook time b/c they were frozen. **You could probably spray them with cooking spray and bake them in the oven, but I’ve never tried this.

BASIL DIPPING SAUCE

INGREDIENTS:

2 T prepared pesto (I make my own during the summer and freeze it, but good store bought pesto would work too.)
2 T good quality Mayo (I like Hellman’s)
1 T freshly squeezed lemon juice

DIRECTIONS:

1. mix all ingredients together in a small bowl. Chill until ready to use.

