Tags

, , , ,

Well I’ll be…!!! Pureed cauliflower DOES taste just like grits!! So, I’m recommending it to all of you out there. Especially if you are: a)cutting carbs; b)as a substitute for mashed potatoes; c)trying to add more veg to your diet; d)just want to try something new.

Note: I know this works as a savory girts substitute. I haven’t tried it sweet. I dressed my “grits” up with roasted garlic and some spices, but I am going to try it next time with cheese!

Recipe: Break one head of cauliflower into florets. Boil one cup of lightly salted water in a pot. Add cauliflower and cook for about six minutes (with the lid on the pot). Add the veg and cooking liquid to the food processor and pulse until smooth. (You could probably also use an immersion blender or full size blender.) Season as desired.

I found this discovery while preparing a recipe for shrimp and grits. http://www.tessemaes.com/blogs/blog/16398009-chesapeake-shrimp-bacon-grits It looked so yummy, I had to give it a try. It helped that I was looking to do something interesting with the head of cauliflower in the fridge. The DH claims to not like cauliflower, but everytime I cook it, he enjoys it. I have discovered that perhaps he doesn’t like simple, steamed cauliflower, but dressed up she is a whole different gal!

I am always happy to discover a new way to enjoy a familiar food. Especially vegetables. What excites me about the cauliflower grits is the ease of preparation. The whole shebang is ready in about ten minutes. And because the cauliflower is mild in flavor, it can be dressed up in so many delicious ways. (I made a roasted garlic spread the day before, so I just added that as the aforementioned recipe called for a product I could not find in the grocery store.) And I am liking the idea of this as a mashed potato substitute. One of the things about real grits and even mashed potatoes is they seize up when they get cold and require some finesse when reheating. Not so with the pureed cauliflower. But wait, there’s more. (Like you need more.) It is nearly fat-free, high in fibre, high in vitamin C, B-6 and magnesium…and 11 grams of protein! You will want to kiss it.

So go ahead, puree some cauliflower. Let it surprise you.

